Statement of Support for the Faculty Senate of the University of Iowa

The Faculty Senate of the University of Iowa voted by a large majority at a September 8, 2015 meeting to issue a statement of no confidence in their Board of Regents. (*)

We, the undersigned representatives of faculty governance systems from across the Midwest express our support for the Faculty Senate of the University of Iowa.

Principles of shared governance dictate that the voice of the faculty, which carries out the core mission of the university, is accorded considerable weight in all important decisions of university governance. In appointing Bruce Harreld as the President of the University of Iowa against overwhelming opposition from the faculty, the Board of Regents, State of Iowa appear to have violated these principles. We have a common interest in ethical conduct, honesty, open and effective communication, public accountability, stewardship and service, and transparency in the process of the appointment of University Presidents and Chancellors.

We call on the Board of Regents, State of Iowa to adhere to the principles of shared university governance and to ethical behavior and transparency. *This is the text of the resolution voted by the University of Iowa Faculty Senate:

WHEREAS, the Board of Regents has failed in its duty of care to the University of Iowa and the citizens of Iowa and shown blatant disregard for the shared nature of university governance, and WHEREAS the Regents have failed to act according to their own strategic plan's core values, namely ethical behavior, honesty, open and effective communication, public accountability, stewardship and service, and transparency, we therefore have no confidence in the ability of the Board of Regents wisely to govern our

John R. Bender, President, University of Nebraska-Lincoln Faculty Senate

Colin Campbell, Chair, University of Minnesota Faculty Consultative Committee

institution.

Edward F. X. Hughes, President, Northwestern University Faculty Senate

Beth Meyerand, Chair of the University Committee, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Gay Miller, Chair, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate Executive Committee David A. Sanders, Vice-Chair, Purdue University Senate

Cassidy R. Sugimoto, on behalf of the Indiana University-Bloomington Faculty Council Executive Committee

Silke-Maria Weineck, Chair, Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs, University of Michigan

Laurie Zoloth, Vice-President, Northwestern University Faculty Senate

Endorsed by

Members of the Senate at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Faculty Senate

Northwestern University Faculty Senate